...the David Wilkins Award


The Institute is seeking nominations for the David Wilkins Award for 2017.  The closing date is 30 April 2017.  Click here for a nomination form.  


At our Loughborough Conference held over the weekend of 17 to 19 September the name of the 2016 David Wilkins Award winner was announced.  


Geoff Whitefield was voted the winner by the IRVs from a short list of six, the other nominees being Steve Carson, Rosamond Clayton, David Fromming, Avril Plant and Andrée Richardson.


The trophy, an Elizabethan style silver dish which is engraved with the names of past winners, was presented to Geoff by Mrs Margaret Wilkins, the widow of the late David Wilkins (he was instrumental in the introduction of the N.A.G. Registered Valuers Scheme back in the 1980s, the forerunner of today’s Institute).


After the Conference Geoff said, “I am truly thrilled to be this year’s recipient of the David Wilkins Award, especially having been voted as the winner from so many other very worthy nominees.  Having seen the award being presented on many occasions, it is clear to see what such an accolade means to all those whom preceded me.  It still, however, does not prepare you for actually being handed that trophy, and seeing your own name engraved alongside those who have been such a guiding light, offered support and mentored me as I was finding my way in the world of valuation science.  I am looking forward to continuing that spirit of the Institute in my capacity as an independent valuer.”


About the Award


David Wilkins (1931-1994), former Chairman of the National Association of Goldsmiths (the NAJ's predecessor) Valuations Committee, had a distinguished career in the jewellery industry and was widely known and respected both for his outstanding personal qualities and great expertise.  More than any other individual David sought to encourage high standards of conduct and professionalism in respect of valuations.  The award that he sponsored remains as his legacy in promoting the aims for which he strove for so long.


The National Committee of the National Association of Jewellers may award the David Wilkins Trophy if an individual has demonstrated outstanding skill, dedication or service in respect of jewellery appraisal and valuation.  This award is made on an annual basis and as such may only be referred to by the recipient in the relevant year. 


The Trophy, which was first presented in 1994, comprises an Elizabethan-style silver dish which is inscribed with the winner's name who retains it for the relevant year.  It is complemented by the award of a £100 gift token to spend with the Gem-A to supplement the winner's personal reference library and/or add to the equipment they use.


Who is likely to qualify for the David Wilkins Trophy?   


There is no official list of criteria that will enable a nominee to fulfil the citation but the following examples of conduct may provide some guidance:


(a)  Consistently producing valuations of exceptional standard.

(b)  Giving help and guidance to colleagues or to members of the public.

(c)  Working to promote and further the aims of NAJ Institute Registered Valuers.

(d)  Providing information/resources for NAJ Institute Registered Valuers.

(e)  Achieving exceptional results in training and/or examination.

(f)   Demonstrating high integrity.

(g)  Showing diligence in research and information gathering.

(h)  Displaying general conduct likely to enhance the reputation of NAJ Institute Registered Valuers.


Previous Winners

  • Terence J Watts - 1994
  • Alan J Smith - 1995
  • Roy V Huddlestone – 1996
  • J Louise Butterworth – 1997
  • Peter J R Jackson – 1998
  • Brian R Dunn – 1999
  •  Michael S J Norman – 2000
  • Philip L Stocker – 2001
  • Rosamond S Clayton – 2002
  • Paul Templeton – 2003
  • John S Harris – 2004
  • Heather McPherson – 2005
  • David J Callaghan – 2006
  • Alan Hodgkinson – 2007
  • Peter Buckie – 2008
  • Steven Jordan – 2009
  • Adrian S Smith – 2010
  • Michael S Inkpen – 2011
  • Jonathan Lambert – 2012
  • Shirley Mitchell – 2013
  • Peter Hering - 2014
  • Graham Price and Barry Sullivan (joint) - 2015
  • Geoff Whitefield - 2016





Institute of Registered Valuers | Siteplan | Cookies

Crumpled Dog Design